IDEMITSU Asia Talent Cup

Round 04 Thailand

  • Matsuyama Defends To Perfection for the Double at Buriram

    Takuma Matsuyama has done the double at Buriram, snatching victory in Race 2 to complete the set and with it take the Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup Championship lead.


Matsuyama Puts On a Masterclass Amid Championship Drama at Buriram

Chang International Circuit, Thailand, October 5-6, 2019

Race 1

Race 1

Takuma Matsuyama took a commanding win in Race 1 of the Idemitsu Asia Talent Cup at Buriram, pulling clear of the chasing pack - and the drama - to cross the line over three seconds clear for his first win of the season. Herjun Firdaus and Syarifuddin Azman completed the rostrum for their first podiums too, with final corner drama taking three riders out the podium fight...

The front row got fairly equal starts to blast down to Turn 1 in unison, but drama just off the front grabbed everyone's attention as points leader Sho Nishimura lost it and skittled out, taking a couple of riders with him. And there would be plenty more drama later, but Matsuyama was already far clear of it and from there on out, the Japanese rider only stretched his advantage.

The fight for second raged throughout the race, however. Firdaus, Azman, Tatchakorn Buasri, polesitter Afridza Munandar, Shoki Igarashi, Adenanta Putra and Idil Bin Mahadi all batlled it out, with the first to drop from the group proving Putra as he was given a ride through for a jump start. And then there were six...

As the laps ticked down, it seemed Buasri and Munandar had the form but it wasn't to be. As Matsuyama crossed the line in the clear, the fight for second approached the final corner and it was the number 5 leading the number 4, but Igarashi then tried to force his way through - and lost the front. He took both down with him, and that left Firdaus and Azman coming through to complete the podium. Igarashi has been given a back of the grid start for Race 2.

The man who crossed the line fourth, Bin Mahadi, also gets a penalty - a time penalty the equivalent to a ride through - and is classified eighth, bumping home hero Piyawat Patoomyos up to P4, just ahead of compatriot wildcard Buapa Thurakij. Jacob Roulstone and Ryosuke Bando were next up ahead of Bin Mahadi, with Putra fighting back to ninth and Warit Thongnoppakun to tenth after he suffered contact.

Kadir Erbay took 11th ahead of Nishimura, with Rei Wakamatsu having fought back to ahead of the points leader but then demoted a place for overtaking under yellows at the final corner.

Another penalty from Race 1 sees Harrison Voight start from pitlane for causing a collision with Thongnoppakun.

Sho Nishimura, Takuma Matsuyama, Afridza Munandar, Shoki Igarashi

Sho Nishimura, Takuma Matsuyama, Afridza Munandar, Shoki Igarashi

Matsuyama Defends To Perfection for the Double at Buriram

Takuma Matsuyama has done the double at Buriram, snatching victory in Race 2 to complete the set and with it take the Championship lead. The Japanese rider had to work for it though, with everything going down to the final corner and the number 11 defending his position to perfection for the victory. Syarifuddin Azman and Afridza Munandar, the two men on the offensive, completed the podium.

It was home hero Tatchakorn Buasri who stormed to the holeshot off the front row, the Thai rider taking over as he did in Race 1 and Munandar, especially, one to lose out. Matusyama slotted into second and flashbacks from Saturday must have immediately started for many on the grid, but the number 11 wasn’t for bolting on Sunday.

Instead, the race was a classic freight train with the lead swapping and changing, and a lot less drama than the attrition of Race 1. Matsuyama spent plenty time at the head of the race, but the Japanese rider just didn’t seem quite able to pull the pin – although his key rival, Sho Nishimura, wasn’t having the easiest race of it as he got beaten up in the group, pushed down outside the top five.

Eventually, however, Matsuyama got his chance as the squabble for second allowed him to make a break for it with eight laps to go. Was this it? The gap went up over half a second and kept on climbing…

With four laps to go though, Azman was on a charge. Breaking free from the group battle, he was able to close the leader down – and brought some company. It was therefore a quartet heading over the line for the final lap, with Matsuyama facing Azman, Buasri and Munandar down for the win and of course, it went down to the final corner.

Buasri was a little too far back but both Azman and Munandar attacked Matsuyama, one either side, but the Japanese rider held firm and kept the perfect line around the corner, exiting ahead and slicing away and over the line to do the double. Azman took second and Munandar third, with Buasri heading wide as he also tried to get involved. The home hero was forced to settle for fourth.

Jacob Roulstone got the better of former leader Nishimura in the end, the Australian putting in another stellar performance on Saturday to complete the top five,  as behind Nishimura, but by just a tenth, came Adenanta Putra.

Thai riders Warit Thongnoppakun and Piyawat Patoomyos took P8 and P9 on home soil on Sunday, with Shoki Igarashi completing the top ten to bounce back from his back of the grid penalty. Herjun Firdaus couldn't repeat his Race 1 form, taking P11 ahead of Idil Bin Mahadi, Ryosuke Bando, Rei Wakamatsu and Australian Harrison Voight, who took the final point despite his penalty of starting from pitlane.

That's it from Buriram, and now it's next stop Motegi...home turf for a good portion of the grid, and the two men at the top of the standings. Last year it was all about Matsuyama, can Nishimura flip the form book in 2019? Find out in two weeks.


IDEMITSU Asia Talent Cup 2019
Round 04 Thailand: Chang International Circuit

Race 1

Rank Rider
1 Takuma Matsuyama (Japan)
2 Herjun Firdaus (Indonesia)
3 Syarifuddin Azman (Malaysia)
4 Piyawat Patoomyos (Thailand)
5 Buapa Thurakij (Thailand)
6 Jacob Roulstone (Australia)
7 Ryosuke Bando (Japan)
8 Muhammad Idil Fitri Bin Mahadi (Malaysia)
9 Adenanta Putra (Indonesia)
10 Warit Thongnoppakun (Thailand)
11 Kadir Erbay (Turkey)
12 Sho Nishimura (Japan)
13 Rei Wakamatsu (Japan)

Race 2

Rank Rider
1 Takuma Matsuyama(Japan)
2 Syarifuddin Azman(Malaysia)
3 Afridza Munandar(Indonesia)
4 Tatchakorn Buasri(Thailand)
5 Jacob Roulstone(Australia)
6 Sho Nishimura(Japan)
7 Adenanta Putra(Indonesia)
8 Warit Thongnoppakun(Thailand)
9 Piyawat Patoomyos(Thailand)
10 Shoki Igarashi(Japan)
11 Herjun Firdaus(Indonesia)
12 Muhammad Idil Fitri Bin Mahadi(Malaysia)
13 Ryosuke Bando(Japan)
14 Rei Wakamatsu(Japan)
15 Harrison Voight(Australia)
16 Kadir Erbay(Turkey)