Round 05 Indianapolis

  • Front Row Start for Wickens at INDYCAR Grand Prix

    Robert Wickens again belied his status as a Verizon IndyCar Series rookie, qualifying second for the INDYCAR Grand Prix at Indianapolis Motor Speedway.


Front Row Start for Wickens, Honda at INDYCAR Grand Prix

May 11, 2018   

  • Robert Wickens qualifies second for Saturday's 85-lap Indianapolis Motor Speedway road-course event
  • Sebastien Bourdais and James Hinchcliffe will start third and fourth for Honda


Robert Wickens again belied his status as a Verizon IndyCar Series rookie, qualifying second for Saturday's INDYCAR Grand Prix. Wickens piloted his Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda through all three rounds of qualifying on the Indianapolis Motor Speedway road course, and ended the day just eighth-hundredths of a second off pole qualifier Will Power.

Sebastien Bourdais, winner of the Verizon IndyCar Series St. Petersburg season opener, will start on the inside of the second row, third, for Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser-Sullivan. Wickens' teammate, James Hinchcliffe, will start fourth to complete the second row of the grid. Long Beach race winner Alexander Rossi and defending Indianapolis 500 champion Takuma Sato both advanced through the first round of qualifying, and will start eighth and 11th, respectively. Saturday's 85-lap INDYCAR Grand Prix starts at 3:30 p.m. EDT, with live broadcast television coverage on ABC.


Robert Wickens (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports Honda) qualified second for Saturday's INDYCAR Grand Prix:

“It was a great job by the SPM guys - we got both cars in the Firestone Fast Six. I'm a bit gutted with P2… We're obviously on the front row, but when you lead the whole qualifying [Rounds one and two], you want to finish like that. It was close. I ended up losing a few hundredths [of a second] in the end. You have to do the perfect job to get the pole here, but I'm happy to be back in the Fast Six. Tomorrow's a whole new can of worms…let's go play.”


IndyCar Series 2018
Round 05: Indianapolis Qualifying

Rank Driver (Team)
1 Will Power (Team Penske)
2 Robert Wickens (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
3 Sebastien Bourdais (Dale Coyne Racing with Vasser-Sullivan)
4 James Hinchcliffe (Schmidt Peterson Motorsports)
5 Jordan King ( Ed Carpenter Racing )
6 Josef Newgarden (Team Penske)
11 Takuma Sato (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
13 Ryan Hunter-Reay (Andretti Autosport)
14 Marco Andretti (Andretti Herta Autosport w/ Curb-Agajanian)
15 Ed Jones (Chip Ganassi Racing)
17 Graham Rahal (Rahal Letterman Lanigan Racing)
18 Scott Dixon (Chip Ganassi Racing)
19 Zachary Claman De Melo (Dale Coyne Racing)
20 Zach Veach (Andretti Autosport)